Some Days

IMG_1259

Man, some days just get you. Let me say that louder. GET YOU.

In this particular week, I’m talking about the absolute, sheer, complete parenting madness that takes hold of every household I know. Decorations, costumes, makeup, neighborhood block parties, negotiating with whom to trick or treat, runs to Costco to buy candy, pumpkin carving, office decorating, school/office/grown-up parties (I won’t even get started on the grown-up aspect of this). And all of this… ALL of it… is simply a lead up to the main event. The part where your kids run out into the dark of night to beg candy off of your neighbors until you put the kibosh on the whole thing. And if (like me) you share parenting duties with someone with whom you used to be married, there is some amount of… lets call it “coordination”… to be done to make everyone happy. And if (like me) you also work for a software company with month-end sales targets, October 31st is also the last day of the month and therefore a working day until 11:59:59pm.

So, I was really at the end of my rope by approximately 8am this morning. The L’s (Littles if you are new here) didn’t have school, so I ran out the door by handing the nanny a post-it with scrawled-out instructions and promises to text her addresses later. As I was driving home, I got a friendly (but, you know, “friendly”) note from one of the L’s teachers telling me s/he was late on some homework. I almost cried.

Anyway, friends, I’m writing this particular day up because, by the time I was settled into a pair of sweats and a glass of wine and the newsletter that a dear and inspirational friend writes (she’s brilliant – more on her later), I had recovered just enough to realize that my day was a sign from the Universe… a reminder that I am, in fact, on a mission.

As I finished up my long day/week, I realized that the app we are working so hard to build for you would have completely changed the ending to my day (and week). We’re building something we truly believe in… because we’re living it as busy, hard-working parents doing our best to do everything and be everywhere all at one time.

Hang tight my friends – good things are brewing here at My Cluck Cluck. We cannot wait to share them with you!

Leave a Reply

